Lost in Yeouido!

We decided to go to Hangang Park again, this time we planned up get from the Yeouido side to the Banpo side of Hangang Park, so that we could watch the lights show. The journey was supposed to be 8km there and 8km back. And then we ALL GOT LOST SEPARATELY!

KL and K and T were on a bicycle each. Kate had an infant seat mounted on KL’s bicycle. I was running. I set off a few minutes earlier since I expected to be slower. Only saw K and T along the way in the first few kilometres. T said that KL was moving slower because of the baby. Sounded okay at that moment.

But somewhere close to the 6km mark, K and me decided that we were too far ahead. We stopped to wait for the others. K had wifi then, texted the rest and found that KL was having trouble getting the baby to stay put on her infant seat. We met T at the 6km mark then decided that we should all head back to the starting point. That’s when everyone started to make small mistakes and get on the wrong routes.

K and me took a wrong turn at the 10km mark. Not sure where the rest got lost. But when K texted the others, we realized that everyone else was lost too! Woah, what are the odds…

In our family, KL carries all the cash and he is the only one with a roaming plan. The rest of us don’t have cash and we rely on wifi whenever we can get wifi. K and T both had their phones. I had nothing with me, but luckily was stuck with K on the journey.

Anyway, me and K were on the wrong path for 3km and then we happened to see a sign that pointed to Yeouido Park. We went on that path for 1.5km more and finally saw some familiar tall buildings and connected back to the Yeouido part of the Hangang Park. Rather smooth journey back without needing to use GPS to navigate.

T found us just a few minutes later. He did use Naver maps to navigate. Apparently, what saved me and K and T was being in the same park the day before, so we knew we had to get near to the distinctive Parc 1 that looks like red lasers. And then we used Parc 1 to help us choose the right way to go.

KL took 1 hour more before he reached us. He was relying on GPS that didn’t work well, and asked locals but didn’t get on the right path still. By then, it was more than 2 hours from the start of the ride. He had to stop at a convenience store to get soda and chips for the baby, and apparently also had to let her watch Sesame Street with his phone (while ensuring it does not drop) to keep her happy and still on the infant seat. He was so stressed throughout.

Well on the contrary, me and K and T agreed that we all had fun tonight! Me and K thought that it was fun getting lost and finding our way back. T thought it was fun navigating himself.

This is a super long post cos I thought I should jot down what I remember. Many years down the road when I think back about this South Korean trip, I will certainly remember this fun little adventure we had where we all got lost in Yeouido!

Leave a comment